top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelsey

The Well of Ascension (Review)

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn #2)

Brandon Sanderson

Genre: fantasy, science fiction, fiction


Spoiler Alert! If you have not read Mistborn (the first novel in the series by Brandon Sanderson, STOP READING NOW!!!!)


Synopsis:

Evil has been defeated.

The war has just begun.


They did the impossible, deposing the godlike being whose brutal rule had lasted a thousand years. Now Vin, the street urchin who has grown into the most powerful Mistborn in the land, and Elend Venture, the idealistic young nobleman who loves her, must build a healthy new society in the ashes of an empire.


They have barely begun when three separate armies attack. As the siege tightens an ancient legend seems to offer a glimmer of hope. But even if it really exists, no one knows where to find the Well of Ascension or what manner of power it bestows.


It may just be that killing the Lord Ruler was the easy part. Surviving the aftermath of his fall is going to be the real challenge.



About the Author:


Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. In addition to completing the Wheel of Time, he is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn Trilogy, Warbreaker, The Alloy of Law, The Way of Kings, The Rithmatist, and Steelheart. He won the 2013 Hugo Award for The Emperor's Soul, a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. For behind-the-scenes information on all his books, visit brandonsanderson.com.


My Review (Warning, May Contain Spoilers!!!)

Let me just start with... WHAT THE HECK JUST HAPPENED!

Yet again, Sanderson writes an amazing novel riddled with mystery, romance, intrigue, and curveballs left, right and centre! I regularly found myself lost in this book for hours on end, only to come out of my stupor having no idea what time it is or where I am... That is how good this series is and continues to be.

It is very quickly reaching the ranks of Harry Potter, and The Lord of the Rings in my love for fantasy fiction.

Sanderson's writing is so rich and descriptive, you can actually find yourself in the Final Empire with the characters.

As was told to me, by the end of this book, little things are going to start falling into place but I am also going to be knocked on my butt by the curveball at the end. And it happened. Things happened (I don't want to give too much away in case someone reading this has not read the series or the second novel yet) that I did NOT expect to happen; and I'm finding myself kind of dazed and confused (in a good way)!

I am lucky to have bought the third instalment in advance so I could start it right away after finishing the cliffhanger that the Well of Ascension ended on. Phew!


The characters you know and love (and hate) from Mistborn come back in this second novel, as well as some new interesting characters, that I still do not know how I feel about...

Vin and Elend's romance still burns, although they face some relationship as well as individual interpersonal struggles (as can be expected when you're the greatest mistborn that ever lived, and everyone is relying on you; and the new king of a fallen city). I like the "back-to-reality" feel that their relationship adds to the story. It reminds you that yes even when people are relying on you and you are doubting yourself there are people there to love and support you through the hard times.


I loved this novel, even more so than the first one, and cannot wait to get lost in the third and final novel!!!!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page